Skip to content

Everclear at The Marchesa Theatre Preview

June 30, 2010

You remember Everclear right?  If you don’t, you’re probably not listening to the radio nearly enough, or possibly, you’re way too young.  Led by frontman (and last remaining original member) Art Alexakis, Everclear had an enormously successful career in the mid and late-1990s with their hit singles.  Practically anyone who was a teenager during that time will instantly recognize the beginning guitar riff of “Santa Monica” from their 1995 album Sparkle and Fade, and then came “Father of Mine” and “I Will Buy You a New Life” from 1997’s So Much for the Afterglow.  Those songs continue to get plenty of radio play, having cemented Everclear’s place in a very specific, but very memorable alternative music time period that came after Nirvana and before the “next big thing.”

I was a sophomore in high school when I bought Sparkle and Fade and it was instantly one of my favorite albums.  For many kids, including myself, the hardships that Art sang about were much more relatable than the self-indulgent babble Jewel was offering, and I wasn’t cool enough to be into Radiohead yet.  Although my affections for Everclear pretty much…erhm, faded once I entered my Beatles Phase, I still think those two albums represent some pretty catchy and nicely done pop-punk.

I’m excited to be checking out Everclear live for the very first time this Friday, but I’m also excited to be checking out The Marchesa, one of Austin’s newest venues for music and other events.  It looks like a very cool place, and moreover, it’s great to finally have a venue in the midtown area.  For us northies, it’s a big deal.  Anyway, thanks to the fine folks working at The Marchesa, I’ll have the opportunity to see firsthand their admirable efforts at revitalizing a neglected area of town which has undergone many, many changes in the 11 years I’ve been living in Austin.

See The Marchesa for yourself this Friday, and indulge in some nostalgic ’90s rock with Everclear.  Also appearing will be the local bands MoTel Aviv and The Pons!  Tickets are still on sale, they’re $25 and you can pick them up here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

