Skip to content

Why I’ve been MIA

February 23, 2010

On Thursday, February 18th 2010, my grandmother, Virginia R. Hernandez passed away at the age of 83.  She had been fighting spreading lung cancer for almost a year.  Despite good times and occasions where her health improved, as a family we knew that there was no way to tell how much time she had left and made every effort to spend as much time with her as possible, including the very last hours of her life.  My grandma was a loving and giving woman who didn’t like to have a fuss made over her.  She never complained about her illness and was always happy when we were around, even when she was on an oxygen machine and no longer able to stand to greet us.  She didn’t want to be eulogized at her funeral, so out of respect for her, I will keep this short.

We are grateful for her lifetime of good health, for her being the true glue of my dad’s side of the family.  I am grateful that I got to spend 29 years of Thanksgivings, Christmases, birthdays, and quality times with her, and that my 9-year-old sister got to know her.  I’m also grateful that her passing brought my immediate family and I even closer together and I know that she would have loved that.  Although our holidays won’t ever be the same, the sound of her Spanish-accented voice boisterously singing me Happy Birthday over the phone every year, the gentle and humorous way she could put my dad in line when no one else could, her wonderful traditional cooking I devoured as a kid, and so many other things are permanently etched into my mind.  I bear her name and share her initials.  No matter how prepared you are to lose a loved one, it still hits you like a ton of bricks and I’ll miss her dearly.

This has truly been the longest week of my life, but I can say I’m looking forward to getting home and getting back into the groove of things.  AGMG updates to come later this week.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. seanningham permalink*
    February 23, 2010 3:24 pm

    I’ve been lucky enough to be a part of your family for 12 years, and your grandmother was and is one of the lovliest people I’ve had the pleasure of knowing. She will be immeasurably missed.

  2. Naomi permalink
    February 25, 2010 1:24 am

    I meant to respond to this when you posted it, but I am doing it now. I am so happy I got to meet Grandma H and see the love she had for everyone. I am glad she saw how happy J and I are together. I am also happy you share her name, because it’s a name that should never be forgotten.

  3. Dawn permalink
    March 3, 2010 4:39 pm

    Hello Virginia, I want to express my condolences. I met your grandmother twice when we were in high school and she was very kind. I know it’s hard to lose someone. How awesome is it that you get to carry on her name? Hope you all are doing well.

    • March 3, 2010 5:39 pm

      Hi Dawn,

      Thank you so much for your comment. I appreciate it. Things are tough, but we’re getting through it. Being distracted helps and doesn’t help at the same time. 🙂

      Virginia

Leave a Reply

