Skip to content

Today’s Musings: Favorite Blog Moments of 2009, Part 1

December 29, 2009

Today and tomorrow, I’ve finally decided to respond to all the “Top Blogs of 2009” challenges by taking a reflective look back at the Austin Girl Music Guide.  I identified my two favorite posts from 2009 and will be reliving them here for your pleasure/amusement!  AGMG has only been in existence since April, but scrolling through the pages, I can’t believe how many blogs I’ve actually written.  Even so, picking the top two was surprisingly fast and easy.

Starting with my second favorite of the year, it goes all the way back to July…ahhh, the scorching summer months here in Austin, when I was still blogging basically for just a handful of readers.  Nevertheless, the amount of work I put into this particular album review was considerable; it was equal amounts dedication to the blog and inspiration by the album at hand.

Yes, it’s the Arcade Fire and my review of their first album Funeral!  I love this album and I think this blog accurately captures both how impressive the album is and my partiality to it.  I also hope that this entry made readers want to buy Funeral if they didn’t have it already or hear the songs in a different way if they did own it.  So, here is the first paragraph of the post, written and published on July 7th, 2009.  Click the link at the bottom to read the whole thing and leave a comment to let me know what you think!

What I’m listening to this week: Arcade Fire

Funeral was the debut album for Arcade Fire, and when it was released in 2004, it proved without a doubt that indie bands can still come out of nowhere and be not only powerful, but highly influential.  Even 5 years later, Funeral is dangerously close to perfection.  This is the type of album that a band can really only make once; it explodes with the pain, angst, and urgency of youth, partly inspired by the deaths of several of the band’s relatives during recording, but also by intense romance and heartache.  Each song is infused with a melodic barrage of sounds from a variety of instruments and backing harmonies – the band regularly tours with 12 members – and vocals from the de facto leaders of the band, husband and wife Win Butler and Régine Chassagne.

…What I’m listening to this week: Arcade Fire continued here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

