Skip to content

New Feature: Song of the Day!

October 27, 2009

So, in honor of my 100th Twit and the fact that I haven’t had time to write a proper review of an album in, oh say, a month now, I decided to instead introduce a new feature to my blog.  It’s one that I’ve been thinking about for a while…Song of the Day!  This category will be dedicated to sharing songs that I heard somewhere that I found, funny, interesting, or whatever.  For every song of the day, I invite you to share your memories of the song, the band, or tell me your personal song of the day!

The inaugural Song of the Day is Counting Crows “Round Here” from the album August and Everything After.  This album came out when I was in high school and I totally fell in love with it.  My embarrassing/funny/teenage moment Counting Crows moment was my angsty thought that the Crows were like, the most underappreciated band around, man.  That was a pretty good pop album…but needless to say, I don’t think anyone who wasn’t thrilled by the Counting Crows is looking back with regret.  What’s your Counting Crows memory?  Or what song stirred somethin’ up in there today?  Let me know in the comments!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 10:40 am

    I don’t have any particularly fond memories of the Counting Crows because … well, frankly, I find them to be insufferable. I did then, and the song remains the same, as it were. I do, however, love the new feature, and would like to share a song of my own day. It’s “You Don’t Win Friends with Salad” from the Simpsons. Sort of a conga line song. Long story as to why that has defined my day so early on!

  2. October 27, 2009 1:05 pm

    I have this song in my Mp3 player at this very moment. I assume it was an accidental addition to my list, I don’t remember putting it in there… that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. I actually didn’t hate Counting Crows but after hearing their cover of Joni Mitchell’s “Big Yellow Taxi” about 10,000 f$#%!% times, I cant stomach this band anymore. At this point I would dump DDT on a baby seal if it would make this song never be played again! Every store I go into I hear it, it has become very old at this point. I know this song isnt being played repeatedly for its musical merit, so a note to businesses: Playing a song written by a hippie in the 60’s does not make you “green” even if it talks about birds and trees, so stop it already!

    • October 27, 2009 8:14 pm

      Completely agreed on their version of “Big Yellow Taxi”, but I can’t decide if that’s better or worse than their song “Accidentally in Love”. I think that’s the Counting Crows song that haunts me…I hear it all the time…today in fact!

Leave a Reply

