Skip to content

Today’s Musings: Solange Covers “Viva la Vida”

April 11, 2009

So, I was going to save my first true post for a review of an album, but I ran across this and couldn’t wait. Before I begin this, I should probably mention that Coldplay is one of my favorite bands. I own pretty much every song they’ve ever played and keep up with the band news, know quite a bit about all the band members and visit their unofficial fan site on a regular basis. Not only that but Chris Martin is one of my favorite people in the world and yes, my husband knows it. Even so, I decided several minutes ago to watch this cover of “Viva la Vida” by Solange with the spirit of an open mind.

It’s actually not as bad as I thought it was going to be; Solange can sing (despite some flat notes in the second verse) and I’ve heard several much worse covers of Coldplay songs in general. Chris Martin has a difficult voice to emulate and she has the range to cover most of the notes. My major problem with it is this…she gets several of the lyrics wrong. Now that’s okay if you’re a kid singing it on You Tube, but not if you’re a famous person singing it for Yahoo Music. Especially considering Coldplay has all the lyrics on their official website. Despite that, I actually kind of dug the musical arrangement, sort of liked the background harmonies, but did not at all like the obligatory soul riffing and the quite self-satisfied look she gave the camera when it ended. What did you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

